8. “Misery,” Stephen King

Big time author Paul Sheldon celebrates finishing a new book– the first since he killed off the character, Misery CHastaine, who made him famous, but whom be grew to hate– with a bottle of champagne behind the wheel of his car in a blizzard. When his car spins out of control, he is pulled from the wreckage by Annie Wilkes, his number one fan. Annie nurses Paul carefully back to health, treating him as best she can with his badly mangled legs. Soon, though, Paul realizes that she is a dangerously ill woman and as her mental health slips, he finds himself more and more under her power. The two are locked into a battle of minds and wills Paul cannot afford to lose.

I meant to go to sleep more than an hour and a half ago. But I still had that much time left in this audio book and I could. not. stop. I legitmately let out a small, dry sob of terror somewhere near the end of the book. Okay, twice. Maybe three times. And there was one moment where I was so dizzy with fright I thought I might faint. I sunk my entire day into this book and don’t regret it.

If you listen to this audiobook, which I highly recommend, definitely listen to the version read by Lindsay Crouse, which is really well done and gives Kathy Bates a run for her money.

Page count: 352

Page total: 2,217

  1. January 20, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Wait, so did you read it or listen to it? Are you counting audio books? Should I count them?

  2. Eli
    January 22, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    I’m counting audio books, which I think is fair play in Pajiba rules. I feel like as long as I really listened to it (as opposed to just having it playing in the background), it’s the same as reading it.

  3. January 25, 2011 at 9:13 am

    I have read The Deathly Hallows twenty-odd times in the last year, then!

  4. January 20, 2014 at 10:11 am

    Wow, that’s what I was searching for, what a material!
    present here at this web site, thanks admin of this website.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

