Home > 2009-2010 books, Author of European descent, From: library, Genre: Non-fiction, Library: Boston Public Library > 11. “The Deep End of South Park,” Leslie Stratyner and James R. Keller

11. “The Deep End of South Park,” Leslie Stratyner and James R. Keller

So, I love South Park. There, I said it. I think it is so funny. I defy you to watch “The List” and not giggle when they say “sparkles!” It is one of those shows that you put on and turn your brain off.

But I can at least feel a little better about myself now that I have read this collection of super-smart essays about it. (See that right there? That’s what we in academia call a “transition.”) I gotta be real with you about something, though. I still do not understand the damn point of theory. I just want to say smart things myself and I am cool with talking about smart things other people said and giving credit for where my ideas come from, but when people want me to talk about Foucault like he has all the answers, that’s when I start getting annoyed. So when people ask me to use a theory, I’ll use it, but I always sort of just feel like I am jumping through hoops. And then I get mad about being a pretty little lion of their circus of cannonized, institutionalized power.

This post got off topic real fast there, but it was kind of in the back of my head the whole time I was reading.

That and that I love when academics get to use fart jokes in their titles. Because you KNOW they love when they get to.

Page count: 192
Page total: 2,539

  1. Vikky
    January 29, 2010 at 9:39 am

    I resent you asserting that you need to turn your brain off to watch South Park. I haven’t watched it in a few years, but the most recent episodes I saw all dealt with current events and ideological debate.

    Though maybe they make it obvious? Like the Trapped in the Closet one? Or the Obama-McCain Ocean’s 11?

  2. Eli
    January 30, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    People don’t need to, but I certainly find it more fun to let the isms wash over me like a gentle wave.

    I am well-acquainted with the South Park oeuvre and I’d say most of them are based on current events or politics. It’s certainly gotten more overtly political as the seasons go on. The recent Margaritaville is a good one!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

