10. “The End of Alice,” A.M. Homes

I picked this book up totally randomly when I was walking through the BPL. I think I might have been thinking of EM Forster when I saw the name. I’m actually glad I grabbed it, even though it’s one of those books that makes you really uncomfortable on the T and that you hope no one will ask about.

Because then you’ll have to tell them, “oh I’m reading a (fictional!) first-person narrative of a pedophile who is imprisoned and exchanging salacious letters with a nineteen-year-old woman who is grooming a child she wishes to molest. Eventually it becomes clear that he’s not interested in her, but he is instead attempting to use her to rape the boy by proxy. Like, there’s one scene where he gets really mad when she rapes him too easily, that it’s too much like consensual sex and not enough like stabbing a child dozens of times, and after she’s dead raping her vaginally, orally, and anally then cutting off her head and stuffing it in her crotch because her menarche reminded you of the sexual abuse your mom inflicted on you.”

“Spoiler alert!,” you’ll add.

Anyway, it was really well written, disturbingly vivid in parts. I’d say that I enjoyed it, but I rather like not being a registered sex offender and don’t want anyone getting the wrong idea. So I’ll say that I also took out another of Homes’ books and am looking forward to reading that one.

Page count: 272
Page total: 2,347

  1. Vikky
    January 29, 2010 at 9:40 am

    That’s… fucked up. Did you get a dirty look when you checked out?

  2. Yuri
    December 21, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    You got the book all wrong. He didn’t want to rape the boy by-proxy. He was in love with the girl without ever meeting her and was angry that she wanted the boy for stupid reasons. He killed the girl to shut her up, not to get a sexual thrill, what happened after was all in rage. He loved Alice.

  3. Eli
    December 21, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    No, I got that, and I got that he was mad that she raped the boy instead of the narrator raping her, but I also got my read. It was definitely not love, not in the way people want to be in love. It was a sick obsession paired with mental illness on both sides.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

