Home > 2008-2009 books, On reading > YEAR END TOTALS

YEAR END TOTALS

My year in books ended last week.

In the past year, I read sixty-four books.

That’s 1.2 books a week or one about every five and a half days. I only read one book in October.

I read 24,830 pages for an average book length of 388 pages. I read 13 books between 250-299, 11 between 300-350, and 9 between 200-249. I also busted out seven books of more than five hundred pages.

About half the books I read were books I own, about half were from libraries. I didn’t read most of the books on my to-read list. I didn’t expect to, but I liked digital books, including audiobooks.

My books most often fell under gender and women’s studies, teaching or history. I fell in love with those cultural history of a [noun] books. I can really recommend eleven of the books I read.

I read fifty-four books by white authors and fourteen by authors of color.

Next year, I want to read more books by authors of color, include more of my own summaries of the books I’ve read, and include a few quotations from those books.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

