60. “World War Z,” Max Brooks

September 15, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

This audiobook had a full cast reading it, which was really awesome for an oral history. It also had some creepy atmospheric music (like “The Haunting of Hill House,” which expired before I could finish it, so this may be its only mention). My favorite of the histories was the pilot whose plane crashed in the bayou. I usually listen to the book while I’m waiting to fall asleep (an endevour that often takes an hour or more), and this one was so vivid. I don’t typically get pictures in my head while reading, but I could see that one.

Brooks did a good job capturing the voices of people in many different cultures (though the voice actresses and actors may have helped, too).

I’d really recommend both the book and audiobook.

Page count: 352
Page total: 23,972

  1. September 26, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Great post, just subscribed to your RSS,

  2. April 2, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    A friend referred this specific url to me. This is specifically what I was seeking for.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

