Home > currently reading, On reading > “And another thing…”

“And another thing…”

Re-reading “Slaughter-House Five” right now. This quote has been cracking me up for the past few days:

I had the Bell Telephone Company find [my old war buddy] for me.They are wonderful that way. I have this disease late at night sometimes, involving alcohol and the telephone. I get drunk, and I drive my wife away with breath like mustard gas and roses. And then, speaking gravely and elegantly into the telephone, I ask the telephone operators to connect me with this friend or that one, from whom I have not heard in years. (4)

I just love the idea of Kurt Vonnegut drunk dialing people from World War II.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

