19. “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz”, L. Frank Baum

February 20, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Hey look, I finally did some required reading. It was a good run I had going there.

Anyway, we’re all familiar with the movie and the book is pretty similar in feeling, though the events are different. The illustrations (which are the original ones by W.W. Denslow) freak me out a little. I kept looking for racialized subtext, a la Roald Dahl’s first version of the Oompa Loompas.

Pages: 240
Total: 13,086
Currently reading: Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry; Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity; and The Secret Garden

  1. Vikky
    March 6, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Mary has a copy that has a picture of the Winkies (the persons with no arms? Right?) that really freaked me out. I never read the book because of that damn drawing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

