17. “The Da Vinci Code”, Dan Brown

February 14, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

This isn’t my most recently read book, but I just noticed that I forgot to record it. Possibly out of shame.

Okay, so after catching part of the movie, I caved and read it– partly because I wondered how all the exposition happened in the book. The answer: annoyingly. Listen, buddy, if you are accused of murder and trying to find the Holy fucking Grail, maybe you should just tell the woman who is helping you (1) not to get thrown in a terrifying French prison (2) find said fucking Grail whatever you know that you think might be relevant and not wait for when it will be more dramatic.

But that’s just a suggestion.

This book was interesting, in a sort of uniquely US American way. US Americans like things that make us feel smart, that have all sorts of history and hopefully conspiracy, and provide more or less instant gratification. This does all those things. For the past few weeks, I have had to restrain myself from talking about the blade and chalice in my Sexuality and Relationships in Christian Religions class. Lest I embarrass myself.

Pages: 496
Total: 12,534

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

