Home > 2008 books, Author of European descent, From: books I own, Genre: Fiction and Literature > 5. “The Handmaid’s Tale”, Margret Atwood

5. “The Handmaid’s Tale”, Margret Atwood

Here’s another GWS book that I felt guilted into reading. My students are going to be reading this as their next book and I want to try to find a way to suggest to Jessie that that… not happen. This book was a gift from her, and I really appreciated it and it had been on my reading list for a while, it was just a hard book for me to connect with, and I want them to read a book that they are going to love, since many were excited about loving 1984. I miss my students. Anyway, on to my thoughts on the book.

It was the same deal as the previous book (I read these two within a week or so of one another). The prose style just didn’t do anything for me. Despite the really interesting dystopia Atwood creates, I simply couldn’t get involved. In the final chapter, when the prose style changed to something academic and masculine, I was totally on board. I whipped through it, marked it up, interacted with it.

I don’t know if it is just that I am used to the prose style of that final chapter, and that I know how to receive information from it, and can anticipate its mechanations a little better than Diamant’s style or the style of most of The Handmaid’s Tale, I just couldn’t get involved in the style, so the books didn’t do much for me.

Page count: 311. Total: 931

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

