3. “The Red Tent”, Anita Diamant

November 27, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

So, over Thanksgiving break while my students were reading sixty whole pages of 1984 (“Mr. Patterson, you forced it.”), I was deathly ill, grading, and reading The Red Tent by Anita Diamant.

Frankly, I was a little disappointed. I’d heard a lot about the feminine style of Diamant’s prose, but it did nothing for me. I spent the entire book just waiting for something to happen. Objectively, I guess a lot did. There were murders, rapes, idolatry, births, adultery– I should have been overwhelmed! For some reason (and, perhaps, it was the sickness) I just didn’t feel anything. I read it to the end only because I felt that, as a Gender and Women’s Studies student, I was supposed to have read this.

Book: p321

  1. Vikky
    December 10, 2008 at 10:02 am

    I know what you mean, I enjoyed it and I thought the writing was beautiful, but I didn’t find myself feverishly reading and gasping and NEEDING to find out what happened next, despite all the sexy “thrills”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

